Filing electronically is the fastest way to get your refund (2 – 4 weeks). If you file by paper, it will take 6 – 8 weeks. Do not file a paper return if you file electronically, as it will slow down the process.
New This Year
Married same-sex couples. On Oct. 6, 2014 the United States Supreme Court let stand a Utah federal appeals court ruling that allows same-sex marriage. Therefore, same-sex marriages are valid in Utah and legally married same-sex couples must file their 2014 Utah returns using the same filing status as on their federal returns. See Filing Status for more information.
Don't Forget Your Use Tax
If you don't pay sales tax when you purchase a taxable item, then you're required to pay use tax. This includes Internet or catalog purchases. To learn all about use tax, including how to pay it, see Utah Use Tax for Internet and Catalog Purchases.
This website is provided for general guidance only. It does not contain all tax laws or rules.